• The Four types of universities in India.
  • Central universities, State universities, Deemed university, Private universities


Odisha Universities are recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC), which draws its power from the University Grants Commission Act, 1956.

Central University of Odisha

  • Central University of Orissa, Koraput

State Universities of Odisha

  • Berhampur University, Berhampur
  • Biju Patnaik University of Technology, Rourkela
  • Fakir Mohan University, Balasore
  • Gangadhar Meher University, Sambalpur
  • Khallikote University, Berhampur
  • National Law University Odisha, Cuttack
  • North Orissa University, Baripada
  • Odisha State Open University, Sambalpur
  • Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology, Bhubaneswar
  • Ravenshaw University, Cuttack
  • Rama Devi Women's University, Bhubaneswar
  • Sambalpur University, Sambalpur
  • Shri Jagannath Sanskrit University, Puri
  • Utkal University, Bhubaneswa
  • Utkal University of Culture, Bhubaneswar

Private Universities of Odisha

  • Birla Global University, Bhubaneswar
  • Centurion University of Technology & Management, Bhubaneswar and Paralakhemundi
  • Sri Sri University, Cuttack
  • Xavier University Bhubaneswar (XUB)
  • AIPH University, Bhubaneswar
  • Jagadguru kripalu university,Cuttack

Deemed Universities of Odisha

  • KIIT University, Bhubaneswar
  • Siksha 'O' Anusandhan University, Bhubaneswar
  • KISS University, Bhubaneswar

Universities in India

Yoga in India


Yoga began in the Indus-Saraswati civilisation more than 5,000 years ago. The Rig Veda is the first text that mentions the word yoga. The Bhagvad Gita, composed around 500 BC, is replete with details about yoga. 21 June is International Yoga Day.